About the Remaking Our Heartland programme

Unveiled by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong at the National Day Rally in 2007, the Remaking Our Heartland (ROH) initiative was launched as a comprehensive rejuvenation blueprint to renew and further develop existing HDB towns and estates. Through the programme, exciting plans have been drawn up to renew HDB estates, with blueprints tailored to meet the changing needs of our community and capitalise on the distinct characteristics of each area.

Punggol, Yishun, and Dawson were the first heartland towns and estates selected in 2007 to undergo ROH. Subsequently in 2011, East Coast, Hougang, and Jurong Lake areas were selected for the ROH 2 programme, and in 2015, Toa Payoh, Woodlands,and Pasir Ris were announced for ROH 3. We welcome you to view the ROH 3 plans below.

Launch of ROH4

At MND’s Committee of Supply debate in March 2020, Minister of National Development Lawrence Wong announced that Bukit Merah, Queenstown, Choa Chu Kang, and Ang Mo Kio will be the next HDB towns to undergo the fourth series of the Remaking Our Heartland (ROH) programme. Under ROH, residents can look forward to new or revitalised facilities such as upgraded Town and Neighbourhood Centres, parks, new communal spaces, and improvements to connectivity networks. An online survey to gather residents’ aspirations and ideas to rejuvenate these towns was held from March to April 2020. HDB will be organising more avenues to engage residents and community groups on the drawing up of rejuvenation plans for these towns, and will announce more details when ready.


Our Heartland 3